Skip to content Skip to navigation

Stuart Thompson wins Gores Award for excellence in teaching

Stuart Thompson headshot
Jun 8 2022

By Alex Kekauoha

Stanford has announced the winners of this year’s Cuthbertson, Dinkelspiel, and Gores awards, which honor faculty, students, and staff for their exceptional contributions to the university community. The eight winners will be honored at Stanford’s 131st Commencement ceremony on Sunday, June 12, at 9:30 a.m. at Stanford Stadium. The ceremony will be livestreamed online and a video of the event will be available on Stanford’s YouTube channelThe university awards are managed by the Registrar’s Office. More information is available on the University Awards webpage.

Following are this year’s winners:

Stuart Thompson, a professor of biology, is honored for his pedagogical approach, which involves deep care for students and the encouragement of open debate that’s inclusive of all voices.

He is lauded for viewing each student as an individual to be nurtured and developed in unique ways, for guiding them in how to think and be open-minded, and for providing learning experiences that students have described as “life-changing.”